Jason Smith does it again!

For the 2nd year in a row, and only the 2nd time in history, a single rider has won all 3 NAHA Exhibition classes and the X-Climb class!  Team Action Machine’s Jason Smith pulled off the unprecedented feat with a clean sweep of all 3 Exhibition classes at the Big Nasty, Sept. 12-14th in New Plymouth, ID.  Unfortunately, daylight ran out before the X-Climb class could be run, but Smith had that wrapped up already too after the 4th round.jason_smith_1

Congratulations to Jason Smith for his incredible performance, again, and to all the other riders who put in dominating performances of their own, just to be overshadowed by Smith.  Logan Mead in particular, who came in 2nd in 3 classes and 3rd in the other, had an excellent year, and Travis Whitlock managed a top-3 finish as well.  Nick Beer came in at #3 overall in the X-Climb class, and Max Simmons makes two top-3 appearances at third place in the 450cc and 700cc Exhibition classes!

NAHA New banner3

Get those hill drags entries in!

There’s just one more hillclimb weekend left in the upper midwest – the hill drags and semi-pro events in Red Wing, MN – hosted by Indianhead M/C.  The drags are on the 20th, and the semi-pro event is the 21st.

The drags are pre-entry only – entry forms can be found on the IMC website.  All drags entries must be received by Sept. 13th – there will be no race day sign-up, changes, refunds, etc.  The brackets have to be made up in advance, and adding or deleting a rider actually is a huge deal…you basically would have to throw the brackets away and start over.

IMC banner

The semi-pro event on Sunday will just have race day sign-up as normal.  Both events will adhere to normal amateur rules, with the exception of being able to run rubber paddle tires on Sunday.

Both events have cash payback…with the drags paying $1,000 for Top Eliminator!

So get those entry forms in, and hope to see you all there next weekend!

Final D23 2014 Points Standings

I just posted up the final points standings for D23.  Looks like the closest battles were in the 65 and Mini Jr. class – Casey Paider won the 65 class by one point over Bodee O’Neil – and in turn, Bodee won the Mini Jr. class by one point over Casey.  :O


D17 Schedule Revision

I was just alerted that the D17 schedule for this weekend was listed incorrectly here on KOTH as well as on the D17 website.

This weekend’s events at CIMC are actually both night climbs, starting at 6:00PM.  I’ve fixed the schedule here on KOTH.

All-Time National Championship Leaders

…an old friend known as the “Blue Goose” (one million internet points if you know who that is) contacted me and suggested posting the top 10 all-time winningest riders in the history of the AMA national championships.

So I bumbled some spreadsheets together and came up with the following list – while I was doing it though, it dawned on me that Logan Cipala has won the AMA Amateur Hillclimber of the Year award for 3 years in a row now. To the best of my knowledge, that’s the only time that’s ever happened…

Continue reading